Posts Tagged ‘ACM Awards’

CatCountry 98.7 Wins ACM Station of the Year 2020

Posted on: February 19th, 2020 by brent

Pensacola’s locally-owned country radio station, CatCountry 98.7 (WYCT-FM), has been awarded “Radio Station of the Year” (Small Market) by the Academy of Country Music (ACM).  This is CatCountry 98.7’s fourth win for “Station of the Year.” Previously, CatCountry 98.7 has won this award in 2006, 2009, and 2011.  Cat Country 98.7’s Brent and Candy were named the ACM Personalities of the Year in 2019.

This is the 55th Annual ACM Awards Show.  This year the show is set for Sunday April 5, 2020, in Las Vegas and will be shown LIVE on WKRG at 7PM.

Dave Hoxeng, owner of Cat Country 98.7, said “I’m so proud of our whole team. This achievement is exciting for the community of Pensacola and WE are incredibly honored.”

Cat Country 98.7 Selected for ACM Station of the Year 2020

Posted on: February 3rd, 2020 by brent




Tweet: Just announced! Radio Awards Nominees for the 55th@ACMawards

 ENCINO, CA (February 3, 2020) – The Academy of Country Music® is announcing today Radio Awards nominees for the 55thACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS, including WYCT-FM Pensacola (CatCountry 98.7).

The Radio Awards are given out during the annual Radio Winners Reception which will be held on Saturday, April 4 in Las Vegas, NV, the day prior to the ACM Awards® live telecast from MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 5, 2020 at 7pm on WKRG. The full list of 55th ACM Awards nominations will be announced in the coming weeks.

55th ACM Radio Awards nominees are:

RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR – SMALL MARKET                                                                                  

  • KKNU-FMEugene, OR                              
  • KTHK-FMIdaho Falls, ID                          
  • WBYT-FMSouth Bend, IN                         
  • WPAP-FMPanama City, FL
  • WYCT-FMPensacola, FL  – WINNER

About the Academy of Country Music Awards

The 55th Academy of Country Music Awards™ is dedicated to honoring and showcasing the biggest names and emerging talent in the country music industry. The show is produced for television by dick clark productions and will broadcast LIVE from MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 5, 2020 at 7:00 PM live CT/delayed PT on the CBS Television Network. R.A. Clark, Barry Adelman and Mark Bracco are executive producers. Damon Whiteside is executive producer for the Academy of Country Music.



Brent and Candy win 2019 ACM Personality Honors

Posted on: March 4th, 2019 by brent

CatCountry 98.7’s Brent and Candy have received the ACM (Academy of Country Music) Award for Personalities of the year for the Cat Pak Morning show.  Brent previously won the ACM Personality of the Year in 2009. Brent & Candy’s Cat Pak Morning Show is “Live & Local” 5A to 10A Monday-Friday on CatCountry 98.7 and on

This is the 54thAnnual ACM Awards Show. This year the show is set for Sunday April 7, 2019, in Las Vegas and will be shown LIVE on CBS starting at 7P.

 Brent says, “It is an incredible honor to even be considered for this recognition. Candy and I are so proud of our community. We are lucky to wake up every morning and dance around the studio, play songs, crack jokes, and celebrate what make Cat Country the greatest place to live!”

CatCountry 98.7 is owned by Dave and Mary Hoxeng of Pensacola.  Sister stations serving the communities of Pensacola include:  NewsRadio 92.3 / AM1620, ESPN 94.5, Talk WEBY 99.1 / AM1330.

2016 ACM Nominee’s – Complete List

Posted on: February 2nd, 2016 by brent
Artist Nominees:

Entertainer: Jason Aldean, Garth Brooks, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Miranda Lambert.

Male Vocalist: Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Eric Church, Brett Eldredge, Chris Stapleton.

Female Vocalist: Kelsea Ballerini, Jana Kramer, Miranda Lambert, Kacey Musgraves, Carrie Underwood.

Vocal Duo: Brothers Osborne, Dan + Shay, Florida Georgia Line, Joey + Rory, Maddie & Tae.

Vocal Group: Eli Young Band, Little Big Town, Old Dominion, Rascal Flatts, Zac Brown Band.

New Male: Brett Eldredge, Chris Janson, Thomas Rhett, Chase Rice, Chris Stapleton.

New Female: Kelsea Ballerini, Cam, Mickey Guyton, RaeLynn.

New Vocal Duo/Group: A Thousand Horses, Brothers Osborne, Maddie & Tae, Old Dominion, Parmalee.

Album: I’m Comin’ Over, Chris Young; Montevallo, Sam Hunt; Mr. Misunderstood, Eric Church; Tangled Up ,Thomas Rhett; Traveller, Chris Stapleton.

Single: Burning House,” Cam; “Buy Me A Boat,” Chris Janson; “Die A Happy Man,” Thomas Rhett; “Girl Crush,” Little Big Town; I’m Comin’ Over,” Chris Young; “Take Your Time,” Sam Hunt.

Video: “Biscuits,” Kacey Musgraves; “Burning House,” Cam; “Girl Crush,” Little Big Town; “Mr. Misunderstood,” Eric Church; “Riser,” Dierks Bentley.

Vocal Event: “Hangover Tonight,” Gary Allan f/Chris Stapleton; “Home Alone Tonight,” Luke Bryan f/Karen Fairchild; “Raise ‘Em Up,” Keith Urban f/Eric Church; “Smokin’ And Drinkin’,” Miranda Lambert f/Little Big Town; “Wild Child,” Kenny Chesney w/Grace Potter.

» ACM Radio & Artist Nominees:Nominations for the 51st Annual ACM Awardsin Radio and general categories are:

Radio Nominees:


Small Market Personality:

  • Bill Barrett, Tim Fox, Tracy Berry, KKNU/Eugene, OR
  • Brent Lane, Candy Ruddy; WYCT/Pensacola, FL
  • Brian Gary, Todd Harding, Susan Moore, KUAD/Fort Collins, CO
  • Scotty Cox, Cara Denis, KCLR/Columbia, MO
  • Sherry St. John, WXFL/Florence, AL.

Small Market Station:

  • KKNU/Eugene, OR
  • KTTS/Springfield, MO
  • WGSQ/Cookeville, TN
  • WXFL/Florence, AL
  • WYCT/Pensacola, FL